Peter Dorhout

Credentials: Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Wisconsin-Madison


Phone: 785.532.5110

Peter Dorhout

Dr. Peter K. Dorhout serves as Professor of Chemistry and Vice President for Research at Iowa State University.  Prior to his arrival in 2021, he had served five years as Vice President for Research and four years as dean of the College of Arts & Sciences at Kansas State University. Prior to coming to Kansas State in 2012, he served as the Interim Provost at Colorado State University-Pueblo, preceded by 20 years at Colorado State University- Fort Collins as Vice Provost for Graduate Studies, Assistant Vice President for Research, and Professor of Chemistry. He has served as a collaborator at Los Alamos National Laboratory since 1987, a collaboration started during his Ph.D. studies in Madison. He has led professional organizations and foundations as a member of the Boards of Directors for the American Chemical Society, where he was the 2018 President, the Research Corporation for Science Advancement, K-State Innovation Partners, Colorado Nanotechnology Alliance, and the Coronado Council BSA Executive Board, where he was president from 2020-2021.

He is a recognized expert in solid state and nuclear materials science and environmental chemistry. He has had active research programs in solid-state f-element and radiochemistry, and nanomaterials science. He has published over 120 peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, and reviews while presenting over 130 international and national invited lectures on his chemistry. Dr. Dorhout earned a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign and a doctorate in inorganic chemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His list of professional awards includes Fellow of the American Chemical Society, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Research Corporation Cottrell Scholar, Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, A. P. Sloan Foundation Fellow, National Science Foundation CAREER Fellow, and the ACS-ExxonMobil Faculty Award in Solid State Chemistry.